Skip to content

Resolutions for 2012

December 31, 2011

New Years Eve, eh?  Good a time as any to list off my personal resolutions.  However, over the years I’ve noticed that many of the resolutions I’ve made have failed.  Of course, I’m not mentioning that I never really understood the concept of a “New Year’s Resolution” to begin with.

When I was a child and in elementary school, I thought a resolution was something that people did to welcome in the new year—my resolutions would then be to watch the Star Wars trilogy and 5 James Bond movies (each family member’s favorite); these resolutions were easy to keep, but technically failures with regards to “what is a resolution.”  My teacher gave us an assignment to list off our resolutions; I turned in the list of movies above.  I was given an F as a grade.  The teacher so helpfully pointed out that I didn’t know what a resolution was, but did not do anything to correct my mistake.  Later, that same teacher would call my parents in and claim that I was a retarded child and would need special education.  Looking back, maybe I should have called the principal and claim that my teacher was a retarded adult because she didn’t understand what teachers are supposed to do, but I digress.

Anyway, that incident made me never put a list of resolutions together.  When someone asked me what my resolutions were for the upcoming year, I just made something up on the spot; these resolutions were vague and I had no intention of ever committing to them.  They were designed to fail!

In accordance to the guidelines set forth by this article on Cracked.com, here is my list of resolutions for the year of 2012.  And, it’s online so it will be easy for others to hold me accountable.

#5. Start a Webcomic

Starting a webcomic is going to be easy!  It’s something I was planning on doing by the end of January anyways.  I even have some ideas about story and a cast of characters!  Already gaming the system!  Easiest resolution ever!  Hah, take that, 2012!

Except…

It’s not really going to be that easy.  I have a cast characters and storylines, yes.  However, I don’t know what the characters are going to look like.  I haven’t written the character biographies nor the storylines down.  All I currently have are ideas.  And notice how the resolution says nothing about maintaining the webcomic! So what I really have is a list of smaller goals that can be grouped together under “start a webcomic.”

Real resolutions:

#1. Spend an hour every day practicing the art of drawing.  That hour can come from all of the excess time I waste just browsing the internet.

#2. Update the webcomic every single Saturday and Sunday.  There aren’t enough webcomics to read on Saturdays and Sundays.  Might as well fix that myself!

#4. Finish a Novel

Another item on my list that is going to be easy just because I was planning on doing it anyway.  Free points, woohoo!

Except…

Writing a novel is hard.  Shamus Young only finished writing his first novel a month ago; Spoiler Warning, Experienced Points, and his game reviews are what inspired me to start criticizing video games.  He has a better grasp on this whole writing thing than I do, and he’s had some trouble with his novel.  It shouldn’t be hard to imagine that I will also have some trouble.

On the other end of the spectrum, professional author Karen Traviss wrote The Slab, the upcoming Gears of War novel, in a total of about 8 weeks.  She said that’s about 190,000 – 200,000 words on Twitter.  I doubt that I would be able to pull that off by the end of even 2014, but that’s pretty much what my end goal is as a professional writer.

My current goal is to write about 50,000 words over the course of a month, something I wanted to do with NaNoWriMo.  In fact, the novel I’m planning on finishing this month was started for NaNoWriMo, but I never got around to actually working on it.  I didn’t even get started until November 17th!  (I currently only have 3 pages of notes.)

Real resolutions:

#1. Finish writing a brand new novel within two months of starting it; start writing at least one new novel before October 29th.  Time for ths writing can come from the rest of my time wasted on the internet.

#2. Get a novel published.

#3. Improve as a Writer

With every post I write, I will become better as a writer.  This is definitely going to happen by the time 2012 is over!

Except…

Improvement by what standards?  Granted, the more I write, the more I’ll improve as a writer.  But, if I don’t learn from my mistakes, then how will can I improve?  Furthermore, if I don’t know what my mistakes are, then how can I learn from them?

What I need is an editor.  Someone who can look my work over.  Y’know, reading it, giving advice on what needs clarity and what needs to be cleaned up or scrapped.  Also, catching simple errors like a character name—Adun, for example—being autocorrected to Adam.  And that’s a real world example, coming from Starcraft: Shadow Hunters by Christie Golden.  If professionals make those kinds of mistakes, then I’m definitely going to be making them too.

I guess having an audience would also be like having an editor.  The more people who read my work and comment on it, the more I can improve my writing ability.

Real resolutions:

#1. Write daily. Blog posts, webcomic scripts, short stories, video game criticisms, whatever. As long as it’s daily and of substance, then it counts. It also has to be uploaded within the week before it can count, too.

#2. Find someone to edit my work.  Simpsons Rule is my fellow author on Clever Musings, so I’ll be talking to him tomorrow.  I know I don’t do any editing for his articles, and I don’t think he does it for any of mine.  I’ll also ask my sister.

#3. Expand my audience.  I don’t actually know how I can do this.  I’m sure it’s something I can figure out by the end of 2012.  I’ll count this as a success if at least 20 different people comment on my Clever Musings articles by the end of 2012, and I’m not counting bots and spam comments.

#2. Take Up Meditation

Meditation is one of those things that I’d like to do.  I would definitely like to meditate for an hour at least once a week.  I feel like so many of my problems could be solved if I was able to meditate and find the right solution for each one.  That I could unlock the secrets of my life.  That I could figure out who I am and where I’m going.  That I could find inner peace and truly be content with life.

Except…

I don’t know anyone who meditates.  I don’t know how I could learn to meditate.  I don’t know if meditation would do any of the things that I’m hoping it would do.  Kind of ironic, isn’t it?

Real resolutions:

#1. Figure out what irony means.  Really figure out irony and know what it means.

#2. Figure out how to transition from this state of not meditating to a state where I could meditate.

#1. Exercise More

I’m so original with this one, aren’t I?

Except…

I’m not seeking to lose weight, here.  See, my ID says I weigh 140 pounds, and that’s a number I made up when I was asked at the DMV.  I don’t need to exercise more, per se.  I need to improve my health, but when people ask what that means, they can only be bothered to understand “exercise more.”

Real resolutions:

#1. Visit a doctor regularly for check-ups.

#2. Eat more to put on weight. I’m hoping to hit 180 pounds by July 1st, and staying within 10 pounds of that through the end of the year.

#3. Exercise for at least an hour a week, for no less than 15 minutes each day; flexibility here means I could do 4 days of 15 minutes, or 1 day of an hour.

From → Lists, Personal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

