Skip to content

Webcomic Status Update

January 4, 2012

Yesterday, I said that I would get my webcomic ideas written down so that I wouldn’t forget them.  And I did!  I now have 800 words worth of character notes.  I thought these characters were more fleshed out and there was more to say about them, but apparently not.  The main character only has 170 words devoted to them, and they’re supposed to be the most well conceptualized of them all!  How could this have happened?

Well, it’s actually very simple…

In my head, I have the whole webcomic planned out—well, not every strip and scene and things like that.  I had an image of what the characters are going to be doing, where they’ll be, and things like that.  But when I sat down to turn all of this into typed text, I discovered that I only had an image of one character, surrounded by a faceless cast.  There was supposed to be a grand ensemble of characters, but all I had was one character and some supporting roles to fill.

Those roles?  Well, aside from “Main Character,” who doesn’t even have a name yet, there are:

  • The Love Interest: who the main character gets with.
  • The Rival: the character who gets in the main character’s way because thats just what antagonists do.
  • The Best Friend: who the main character runs to when they need a shoulder to cry on.

There are a few more, but they’re more of the same.  They’re more cookie-cutter characters that have no purpose other than to prop the main character’s story up.  What does this say about me as a writer?  Am I really that lacking in creativity?  Hmm.

In related news, I also said that I would actually do some drawing practice today.  I did not.  However, I did look into the basics of human anatomy.  I have a very pathetic idea of how human bodies are proportioned now, which is much more than I had yesterday.  I intend on sleeping on what I’ve read, and putting it to good use tomorrow.  (Granted, none of that changes the fact that I intentionally procrastinated to blow off drawing practice.  I’ll be better prepared, though!)

I’m also going to offer up the excuse that I couldn’t practice drawing because I realized I have no idea who my characters are going to be.  Will I need to practice female anatomy, or just male anatomy?  What are these characters going to be doing, and how will that influence their character design?  What facial expressions will I need to practice?  So many things to ponder!

But I have 13 characters down now.  And a host of minor background characters.  That seems kind of daunting to think about, so I’ll dial things way back.

My goal for tomorrow: practice generic human anatomy, for both males and females.  Default standing pose.

Yeah.  That’s good.

Tomorrow is going to be a good day.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

